35th Annual Tejano Music Awards Held October 24th

35th Annual Tejano Music Awards Held October 24th


By Liz Lopez –

The Texas Talent Musicians Association (TTMA), producers of the 35th Annual Tejano Music Awards (TMA’s) held the gala event on Saturday, October 24 at the Tobin Center of the Performing Arts in San Antonio. The awards were hosted by the comedian Efrain “Happy “Guerrero.

The Special Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Austin based Ruben “El Gato Negro” Ramos and from Edinburg, Roberto “El Primo” Pulido. The pioneers in the industry are known for their originality that spearheaded the growth of Tejano music in the 20th century.

Here are the winners in each category, as voted upon by the Tejano Industry members and fans:

Siggno had four wins, including Song of the Year, Te Llevare; Album of the Year – Norteño – Zodiacal and their vocalist, Jesse Turner, won in both the Male Vocalist of the Year and Entertainer of the Year.

Elida Reyna won in two categories, including Female Vocalist of the Year and the Album of the Year – Tejano – Al Fin Completa (Elida Reyna y Avante), and shared one as Vocal Duo of the Year – Elida Reyna & Jay Perez – Siempre Seras Para Mi.

The remaining four categories include: Album of the Year – Conjunto- El Siguiente Capitulo – The Hometown Boys; Best New Artist – Male – Juan Jose Rodriguez (Bajo Zero); Best New Artist – Female – Yvonne Ramos (Yvonne Ramos y Grupo Fuego) and Best New Artist – Group – Grupo Imagen.

Among the artists scheduled to perform on Saturday were Austin’s Angel Gonzalez y Vimana, including Ashley Borrero, the 2011 Austin Tejano Music Coalition’s (ATMC) Tejano Idol winner. Shelly Lares, who was a top nominee in the Female Vocalist of the Year was among the performers. She has hosted the annual Tejano Idol competitions for the ATMC, most recently held on October 18th.

For more information visit the official TMA website http://www.tejanomusicawards.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s